Having a Moment

Do you ever wake up and realize you’re three days away from turning 21?!

No? Okay, maybe it’s just me.

I’m currently having a moment. Growing up is scary–really scary. But that’s why I’m spending my 21st birthday in Walt Disney World, because not only is it my happy place, but it has no age limit.

Since I leave Thursday for my magical weekend, I decided to share one of my favorite Disney moments with all of you. Who doesn’t love to hear about magical moments?!

Here goes:

I am a Disney Princess. I may not be an official one, but I’m totally an honorary one. However, as much as I love princess interactions, I was so excited to meet Mickey Mouse, for the first time, during my last trip to Disney. Everyone remembers the first time they met the mouse that started it all, and I made it a priority to meet him.

My family, boyfriend and I were walking through Epcot and were passing the Epcot Character Spot. The wait time said five minutes, so we decided to head inside because really, who can resist such a small wait time? We had NO idea what character(s) we were going to meet, which only increased the anticipation. I didn’t have an autograph book, but I had a fanny pack my boyfriend had bought for me with a Mickey Mouse stitched on it by my mom. I whipped out my sharpie as we rounded the corner, and I gasped as I saw who we were in line to meet: Mickey Mouse, Minnie Mouse and Goofy.

I completely freaked out. I was about to meet the big cheese, the boss man himself. When it was our turn, Mickey hugged each of us, joked around with my boyfriend and dad, and took a picture with us. When we got back in line to continue meeting the rest of the characters, I realized I hadn’t gotten him to sign my fanny pack. My mom flagged him over, and he LEFT his meeting spot and came to us in line. He happily took my fanny pack and the sharpie, signed the entire front of my fanny pack, handed it back to me and hugged me. I would be lying if I said I didn’t cry, and I would be lying if I said I wasn’t crying right now thinking back to that moment.

You can say that it’s childish and silly, but to me it’s a memory I will cherish forever. One day I hope to be a Cast Member, and I can’t wait for the day that I can call him my new ‘boss.’

Okay. NOW I’m excited for my birthday. Let the magical festivities begin!

     10455835_10152171152983443_6738358268327065644_n           10377005_10152171153913443_1526871653005961744_n

Do you remember the first time you met Mickey Mouse?

What has been your favorite character interaction?

Leave a Reply

