l Am On My Way; I Can Go The Distance

“When you believe in a thing, believe in it all the way–implicitly and unquestionable.” – Walt Disney.

To piggyback off of Walt, I would like to begin by saying that believing in yourself, first and foremost, is one of the most important things you will ever do in life. Believing in yourself opens up so many doors that will lead you down new and exciting paths, and those paths will help shape who you become.

Truthfully, I have always struggled with my self esteem. Some days I feel on top of the world, and other days I feel like there’s the ground, 50 feet of dirt, and then me.

However, and this may sound silly, finding my dream has helped me feel better about myself. Having a dream gives me a sense of purpose, and having a sense of purpose makes me feel…important.

I’ve mentioned my dream briefly a few times, but to refresh your memory, I would ultimately love to work in social media/communications department for Walt Disney World. I very much enjoy interacting with people on social media platforms and figuring out how to use the platforms to my advantage.

With this in mind, I decided to apply to the Disney College Program. Yes, I am aware that I won’t gain experience in social media this way, but I am also aware of the fact that many cast members started their career with Disney by doing the program.

And, honestly, the magic starts in the parks. So why wouldn’t I want to begin my journey there?

After a web-based interview, a phone interview, and a month and three days of waiting, I finally got the email I had been waiting and wishing for:

1979487_10152396178833443_256224792954068286_n

On Sept 29, I was accepted into the Disney College Program for the Spring 2015 semester. My role is Merchandise, and I am so beyond excited!

I, of course, accepted my offer, and will be participating in the program from Jan. 19 until May 15. I am ready to earn my ears, network, make new friends and learn about the history of my favorite place on this earth.

I will probably post on here periodically to document my journey, so I hope you will all follow along!

*If anyone would like a separate post on the application process from applying to accepted/not accepted, please let me know and I can do that!*

I am FINALLY on my way, and I am going the distance! I can’t wait for this new chapter in my life to begin!

10446588_10152426719934891_7254544821875788412_n

10 thoughts on “l Am On My Way; I Can Go The Distance

  1. I have a question since I’m a little confused. With this program, do you go to “disney” college or do you go to a real college to pursue your career?

    • Hi there! First of all, love your email address. (I am a HUGE All Time Low fan!)

      So with the DCP, you must be enrolled in a university pursuing a degree/have just graduated in order to apply/be eligible to participate. You can take college level courses while on your program at Disney for college credit, but it isn’t a requirement.

  2. I would want to join the DCP, but when it says a minimum of 1 college semester, what does that mean? Cause each college have their own terms of what a semester means. 4 classes? 15 units? Sorry for sounding rude… But i am really interested in the DCP.

  3. Hi there! I have been reading your blog and noticed you made a comment you can make a post detailing the process of applying and all and I was wondering if you made one/could I get info from you about it? I am applying for the Fall of 2016 semester and beyond excited and any information or tips to applying would be greatly appreciated!! πŸ™‚

      • Awesome thank you! πŸ™‚ I’m still getting everything in order but wasn’t sure what to expect with the actual application process and what kind of questions they would ask if I’m lucky enough to get a phone interview. Any help from a former DCP student would be amazing and I happened to find your blog!

Leave a Reply

