Curiousity Keeps Leading Us Down New Paths…

It is a beautiful Friday afternoon here in Orlando, Fla., which means now is as good a time as any to update my blog!

I have now been on my college program at Disney for over two months. Isn’t that crazy? Time sure does fly when you’re having fun (and working hard).

I can’t believe that I only have about a month and a half left here…

Except that I don’t 😉

*MAJOR UPDATE ALERT*

A few weeks ago, I applied to extend my program until July 30 instead of leaving May 15. I applied for three new roles in addition to applying to be transferred to a new location within my current role (merchandise) and to remain in my current location (World of Disney).

When I first applied, I wasn’t sure if I would take the extension if it was offered to me. I knew that this would be my final ‘summer’ before graduating from college next spring and that my family would probably want me home because they miss me. But I didn’t want to miss out on a good opportunity, so I threw caution into the wind and applied.

After a week or so, my application was pended. While I knew that being rejected altogether was worse, I was still upset that so many of my friends had been accepted and I still had to wait. I began to feel as if I wasn’t meant to be here and that my time with Disney was truly going to come to a close come May, and that’s when I realized how badly I did want the extension.

Tuesday evening I had a lovely meeting with someone I know who works in the communications department at Epcot. Even though I haven’t known her very long, she is one of my biggest cheerleaders when it comes to my future career with Disney. She is ready to help me make connections and she told me how proud she was of me and all of my achievements thus far and that I would make an excellent cast member (permanently).

Low and behold, the next day I received my congratulations email telling me that I had been accepted to extend my program in the same role but a brand new location! Even though I had hoped for a new role, I was so excited that I got to work somewhere else for a little while because that means new experiences and new connections to be made.

I am so unbelievably happy that I get to continue this journey with one of the best companies in the world and that I have the full support of my family and friends.

I truly believe that everything happens for a reason, and if I wasn’t meant to be here…then I wouldn’t be here. My time with Disney is nowhere near being close to done.

In fact, I’m just getting started ❤

10408560_10152747217948443_5586569233007025651_n

Leave a Reply

