#HHN25

I am not a fan of horror. I hate it. In fact, I can’t even watch scary movies because I get way too freaked out.

Yet, I have attended Universal Studios® Halloween Horror Nights® for the past four years in a row.

Why do I enjoy torturing myself?

It’s simple. I like spending time with my family and deep, deep down…being scared is thrilling. But I’ll never admit that when tears are streaming down my face as I’m getting the life scared out of me.

This year marked the 25th anniversary of Halloween Horror Nights at Universal Studios Florida and the #HHN25 team brought their A game.

With nine haunted houses, five scare zones and two shows, this year’s event had something that appealed to everyone and has already proven to be a success.

IMG_0057

Here is my ranking of the houses by scare factor:

  1. 25 Years of Monsters and Mayhem (Anniversary House)
  2. Insidious
  3. The Purge
  4. Freddy Vs. Jason
  5. The Walking Dead
  6. Body Collectors
  7. Asylum in Wonderland
  8. An American Werewolf in London
  9. RUN: Blood, Sweat and Fears

This list is solely based on scare factor according to me and my party of five other people. Everyone is scared by different things, so definitely walk through each house yourself and come up with your own rankings.

This is my reasoning behind my rankings:

  1. Anniversary House- I came out of this house shaking and in tears. Maybe it’s because it was the first house of the night we did and we walked right in so I had no time to prepare. Maybe it was because it had a lot of unfamiliar characters that I wasn’t expecting. Or maybe it was because this house was so well done that I was screaming, really screaming, at every twist and turn. Universal hit the nail on the head with this anniversary house. Kudos.
  2. Insidious- A lot of people have said that this is one of the scariest houses HHN has ever done. While I don’t 100% agree, I don’t 100% disagree, either. For me, never having seen Insidous, it was scary because I didn’t know what I was walking into. The scenes drew me in and made me forget to check for scare actors, which I always do, so I got a lot of unexpected scares. But I think this house was more based on a creepiness factor than a scare factor. A+ on the outside of the house, though. (Although, I liked it better as the Halloween house last year.)
  3. The Purge- This whole concept scares the living day lights out of me because THIS. COULD. HAPPEN. Well, maybe not, but it’s more realistic than some of the other concepts, which adds to its scare factor. The outside set up was well done (that yellow bus has been used for everything) and I was honestly scared from start to finish. Also, any house that uses strobe lights will get me shaking and running for the exit, which is exactly what happened.
  4. Freddy vs Jason- While I went in knowing the back story of both horror icons, I have never seen either movie. As someone who had no frame of reference, I believe the house was extremely well done. Houses like these where the same character (or two) pop up multiple times are tough because you have to make sure each actor looks EXACTLY the same. Whoever worked on this house did an AMAZING job of this. Every Freddy and every Jason looked the same to me, and terrified me each time. This house also had the exciting factor of there being a battle, which took away some of my fear, thankfully.
  5. The Walking Dead- This house was not super boring or super scary to me, sadly. It was kind of in the middle. Last year’s Walking Dead house was the best that they’ve done since partnering with AMC, so it doesn’t surprise me that they didn’t top it. Zombies are pretty cool to me and since I’m such a huge fan of the show I enjoyed the house regardless, but it might be time to find a new idea to work with. Or maybe not, since Season 6 has been A-M-A-Z-I-N-G so far.
  6. Body Collectors- This house was decent, but the issue I had with it, like The Walking Dead, is that people killing people and insane asylums have been done before…a lot. I know this was a take on two concepts Universal did in the past, so people who are familiar with it will enjoy it. I was scared, but not as scared as I thought I was going to be.
  7. Asylum in Wonderland- This wasn’t too terrible. The 3D effect was interesting, but really…how scared am I supposed to be of Alice in Wonderland? It was trippy, which made it appear scarier, but it wasn’t super scary to me.
  8. An American Werewolf in London- This house was done two years ago, and while it was revamped a bit for this year…I didn’t like it then and I don’t like it now. Of course I jumped and got scared because everything scares me, but I hope they put this house to rest for good.
  9. RUN: Blood, Sweat and Fears- This. House. Was. Awful. This is the only one that I was confused throughout the entire thing. I left thinking, “what did I just walk through?” I found myself not scared as I walked through because I was just trying to figure out the point of this house. I honestly couldn’t tell you one thing I remember because it was that forgettable. If you have to skip one house, let it be this one.

You still have a few chances to experience #HHN25 for yourself, and Jack and his maniacs are waiting.

11059897_10153180902643443_9064977262336085339_n

Leave a Reply

