To My Tomorrowland Family

When I went to Magic Kingdom for the very first time only four years ago, I fell in love with Tomorrowland. The theme, the attractions, the atmosphere- it quickly became my favorite land in the park.

Upon finding out that my second college program would be spent in attractions, I was nervous. Being an attractions cast member just seemed like such a difficult task, especially since I had spent the last three years of my work life, including my first college program, in retail, helping customers find the perfect gift for themselves or others. I knew this would be quite the adjustment, and I prayed for a good location and a good group of coworkers.

Being placed in Tomorrowland was the best thing that could have happened to me, and it’s because of the amazing people I encountered while working there.

14355660_10153895620638443_7657963848445095885_n

From the moment I started training, I knew I was being welcomed into a special family. It didn’t matter that I was a CP- those who worked part-time and full-time still made it their mission to be kind and open toward me. If I had a question, I didn’t feel afraid to ask. If I needed to be saved from Buzz Merge, there were people who gladly switched with me. If I was having a bad day, there was always someone around to hug me and tell me it would be okay.

Attractions is, in my opinion, one of the hardest jobs to have in the parks. You have to know the attraction, and your area, like the back of your hand because YOU are in charge. You have to find the balance between providing the best guest service possible without jeopardizing your safety and the safety of everyone around you. You have to take a lot of heat for simply doing your job, and it isn’t easy. Plus, if you are trained at multiple attractions it makes it even harder.

But I can tell you this- the cast members that make up the Tomorrowland Family are some of the most outstanding people I have ever worked with. They are knowledgeable, kind, sympathetic, caring and witty. They are the reason that I dragged myself out of bed to go to work on days when I didn’t think I could mentally handle it. They helped me get through the holidays, which were especially tough. They made me feel loved when I was far away from my loved ones. They shared their lives and stories with me and for that, I am forever grateful.

15284190_10154116440693443_8010546932510612207_n

My second college program was challenging. It pushed me mentally, physically and emotionally. I won’t lie and say that every day was incredibly magical because we all have bad days and that is OK. But I will say this: my coworkers are the reason I made it through my program. They made it worthwhile and, honestly, I wouldn’t trade the experience I had for anything in this world.

15356568_10154116440343443_6427802271496883212_n    15400324_10154116440688443_6571172211352181382_n

I trained at five of the eight attractions; I gave out candy during Halloween parties; I celebrated Magic Kingdom’s 45th Anniversary; I got paid to watch Wishes, blow bubbles and hand out stickers; and I met people who enriched my experience and who accepted me for who I am. I could go on forever about how each of you impacted me, but I will leave you with this:

T-Land, you are something special. Each and every one of you are beyond incredible, and I hope you never lose sight of how truly wonderful you are. Thank you for helping me through rough days and for celebrating my achievements. Thank you for making me feel included and for never making me feel stupid for asking a question. Thank you for letting me be a part of your story and for being a part of mine. I couldn’t have asked for a better Ohana.

I’ll love you forever, Tomorrowland. Star Command, over and out.

15826755_1421414577869389_1812459694352080970_n

Leave a Reply

